Posted: Apr 25, 2019

Great small cabin at a good price. Enjoyed our stay.

 


Posted: Apr 3, 2019

 


Posted: Mar 24, 2019

 
Enjoyable stay at Hickory Haven

Posted: Mar 20, 2019

The cabin was very clean and spacious. We staying in March, so it was quite cold out and it took the cabin a long time to warm up and was never quite warm enough. Besides that, we really enjoyed hiking, caving and hot tubbing. Would definitely stay there again in warmer weather.

 
We'll be back

Posted: Feb 22, 2019

This is our second stay at Big Leaf cabin. It is comfortable, clean, and cozy! Kids loved the loft, it was like a little fort for them. Thank you, we will be back.

 
Fabulous Host!

Posted: Feb 1, 2019

My husband and I had a peaceful weekend getaway at Nutmeg. We have no complaints. The amenities were as promised (even when that meant that the owners had to empty, clean, and refill the hot tub just before we arrived). The cabin was comfortable and warm. The cabin is also located on a disc golf course (which will certainly take advantage of the next time we come to stay). With the government shutdown ending right as we arrived, we were also still able to visit the Mammoth Cave visitor center and go on a cave tour. (We highly recommend visiting the Park as well; great hiking trails, nice visitor center, and informative tours.) When not relaxing at the cabin, we spent our time hiking or visit the host family's restaurant (a small, very informal, diner-type). It was inexpensive and very family-friendly (although not necessarily healthy), and we got to know the host family. Overall, we had a WONDERFUL time and highly recommend Nutmeg or working with Hickory Cabins for your next getaway!

 


Posted: Jan 18, 2019

 
Nice Cozy Cabin (Nutmeg)

Posted: Dec 12, 2018

My wife and I had a lovely 2 day stay at the Nutmeg cabin. We really wished our stay could have been longer. The cabin was small, but it was nice and clean. It was quiet and secluded, set back in the woods. We really enjoyed the hot tub and the star gazing on the back deck. We will definitely be back if the situation allows.

 


Posted: Dec 10, 2018

 
Our stay

Posted: Dec 8, 2018

My husband and our friends stayed here 2 nights. So much fun! It was a Nice and clean, cozy cabin! Nice back porch with a great view, friendly staff :) Would highly recommend if you are looking for a nice long weekend escape from daily life.

 
wonderful cabin and setting

Posted: Nov 28, 2018

well pleased on quality and interior of cabin everything well maintained and in good working condition wish we had more time to stay longer will revisit again

 
Big Leaf Stay

Posted: Nov 25, 2018

We were very pleased with our experience at Hickory Cabins and would recommend them to anyone visiting the Mammoth Cave area.

 
Wonderful Spot

Posted: Nov 14, 2018

We were extremely happy with our stay at Nutmeg. It was quiet, nicely furnished, and was close to the Mammoth Cave Visitor Center. Thank you so much for being a part of our vacation! Keith and Tammy Corson

 
Nice

Posted: Nov 4, 2018

Overall this little cabin was nice. I just wish that it was cleaned a little better. I slept on the side of the bed closest to the wall and you could tell that it hadn't been cleaned in awhile. The dust and dirt was very noticeable. Other than that it was nice.

 
Big leaf fall fun

Posted: Nov 2, 2018

Great place for family! Fire pit, loft, and porch were all a big hit!

 
Almost perfect

Posted: Oct 6, 2018

The cabin was adorable. It had a few pots and pans for us to use as well as a coffee pot. Everything was clean. One thing that I didnt like were the beds. They were very firm and difficult to get a good night's sleep on.

 
Romantic & Cozy mini-honeymoon

Posted: Sep 23, 2018

It was absolutely lovely! The cabin was the perfect size for the two of us and we are planning to bring our friends and family next time to rent the cabin across the way for all of us to stay next time! We were in such a rush to leave right after the wedding that we didn’t get a chance to bring our own groceries or even thought to do so, so make sure to bring all of those things, because the nearest ANYthing (besides the gas station) is about 45 minutes away. But it was perfect for what we wanted. Went to the Crystal Onyx Cave, made dinner the second night, and the beds are perfectly comfy! Oh! And don’t be scared of the sudden loud thuds on the roof, those are just the acorns falling off the tree! And my husband says, don’t try to go to the Belly Bustin’ BBQ place, they are closed!! Otherwise, the cabin itself, no complaints at all! It was perfectly lovely! Would and will go again!!

 
Hickory Cabins Nutmeg

Posted: Sep 12, 2018

We have a lovey peaceful time at this place. The owners were so helpful and friendly. The cabin was very clean and so cute. We will return here with friends. The Miller’s

 
Great experience

Posted: Aug 25, 2018

the entire weekend was a great experience due mainly to management team running hickory haven. They were very knowledgeable and friendly and extremely responsive to our questions. The cabin was exactly as described and we could not have asked for a better place to stay

 


Posted: Aug 23, 2018

 
Nice Cabin in the woods

Posted: Aug 2, 2018

We had a really nice stay, it was peaceful and beautiful. Cabin was great, only complaint is the furniture (beds are way too hard and noisy, sofa/chairs way too squishy) and not enough lighting.

 
Excellent Accommodations

Posted: Jun 29, 2018

My wife and I and one daughter and her family stayed at Hickory Haven. The covered deck space is wonderful. The hot tub is great. High efficiency heat pumps on each level did a terrific job of cooling the cabin. My only complaint (and it is minor) is that the charcoal grill is rusted through and almost no cleaning supplies were available. We had a child get sick and had to go buy a bucket and other supplies to clean and sanitize the bathroom where he got sick. We used the grill by putting some aluminum foil on the bottom of the grill where it had rusted out. The location is superb - secluded but close to Mammoth Cave Visitor Center and Nowlin Lake. Frank and his son, Richard, are excellent in providing information and responding to any needs.

 
Great Cabin for couple

Posted: Jun 29, 2018

My two youngest adult daughters and a son-in law stayed in this cabin. It was perfect for them. The hot tub is very nice. Location is terrific. Since their older sister an her family stayed in Big Leaf, they were able to coordinate activities.

 
Great Private Accommodations in Quiet Woods

Posted: Jun 29, 2018

My daughter, son-in law and their 3 children stayed in the this cabin. It was very adequate for their needs. The location of the cabin is excellent - isolated, but close to Mammoth Cave Visitor Center and many activities. Great outdoor space too!

 


Posted: Jun 23, 2018

Needs more lighting in kitchen sink and counter area. Bath/ shower some bleach would go a long way towards helping the mildew/mold clean up. A small fan and an extention cord to help move cooler air up towards the loft. When showing the cabin turn on both T.V.'s, the t.v. in the bedroom had no signal, something was not working or plugged in? T.V. in living room area worked fine. Overall it was a very nice cabin and experience for the grand kids.

 
Solitude in the Woods

Posted: Jun 22, 2018

Had a wonderful stay at the Big Leaf cabin. Perfect for my wife and I and the four grandkids. Comfort and location were the biggest hits! Will definitely stay again if we visit the caves.

 


Posted: Jun 18, 2018

We thought the cabin was very nice and clean for the most part. We were disappointed that the grass never got cut while we were there and the table on the outside porch was very dirty. I had to clean it myself so we could use it. Also it would have been nice to have a better idea of what was provided in the kitchen as far as dishes, silverware, serving ware and microwaveable bowls and plates because I would have brought more of those kind of things from home. Also, we ran out of toilet paper but I had brought extra. Overall it was a good experience.

 
Comfortable and Calming

Posted: Jun 8, 2018

What a great trip and what a great cabin. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Everything we were looking for in our trip away. Mammoth Cave being so close was a huge plus. It was great to disconnect and unwind.

 


Posted: May 29, 2018

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hickory Cabins. I like that it's very private and close to the Mammoth caves and the Nolin River Lake state park. We took the ferry across the river to get to the caves, which was unique. Happy that there was internet access and cable tv to watch while it was raining. I would definitely come again, but maybe stay in the larger cabin, so the grandkids have a little more room.

 
Cozy place

Posted: May 26, 2018

The cabin was nice and cozy. It only has one bathroom but we made it work. It is in the woods with another cabin across the road. A few recommendations would be to add a hot tub like the other two cabins, put a mirror in the smaller bedroom and cover the back porch.

 
Great Cabin

Posted: May 23, 2018

We had a wonderful time at Big Leaf cabin! It was perfect for our family of 4 and had such a cozy feel to it. It was very well kept and clean. The only negative is that there is another cabin not far away from the front of the cabin, but the back is secluded with trees. Highly recommend.

 
Hickory Haven

Posted: May 21, 2018

Beautiful cabin! All the amenities needed & more! Loved the hot tub & whirlpool bath. Porch swing was definitely a favorite spot! Very comfortable (apart from the couch) Broken springs ) lol Everything else lovely & clean. Definitely will recommend & bring family if the opportunity arises! Thank you!

 
Nutmeg Cabin Stay

Posted: Apr 23, 2018

We love this cabin and will be back for our 3rd stay!

 
We will be back

Posted: Apr 22, 2018

The pictures do not do this cabin justice! It was gorgeous, clean and the scenery was more than amazing! There is so much to do within a 15 mile radius. All the folks we came across were wonderful and we loved the southern hospitality. We couldn't have picked a better place for an adult get away. Thank you so much to the Hayes family. Your cabin was "just what the doctor ordered"

 
Celebrating a 50th birthday!

Posted: Apr 9, 2018

Absolutely lovely place. We thought the sheets were the softest sheets we had ever slept on. My only request, is lamps placed next to the beds located downstairs. Had to leave the overhead light on in order to read, which bothered the people sleeping in the other bed. Thank you.

 
????????

Posted: Apr 8, 2018

I cabin was very nice except for the couch. Need to get a new one ,not even comfortable to sit on. I love the secluded atmosphere and the covered deck,although you may want to cover the spa in case of bad weather. Most people come for that reason, or maybe just me. Was glad I was able to use it. Had a great time! Thank you

 


Posted: Mar 20, 2018

Great cabin. Had everything that we wanted and needed!

 
Big Leaf

Posted: Mar 13, 2018

Our cabin was beautiful and the surroundings was great! Just wish there was more places to shop and eat closer by

 
A lovely little cabin

Posted: Mar 10, 2018

This is a small, cozy cabin tucked away in a lovely wooded area. It's a perfect size for one or two adults and perhaps one child. The bed is against a wall on one side, so there's not a lot of space in the bedroom and getting in and out could be challenging for the person against the wall. The loft, in my opinion, is not adult-sized, so don't count on an adult to utilize that space. In spite of its small size, it has a full kitchen (mini fridge with freezer, microwave, stove and coffee pot). If you plan on cooking, be sure to bring whatever pots, dishes, etc. you need as it is sparsely stocked. There are a few little restaurants in the area and a pizza shop at the check-in office, so you do have options other than cooking. There are no regular grocery stores in the immediate area, so do that shopping in a more populated area prior to your arrival. The hot tub on the deck looked inviting, even though I didn't use it. It was very reasonably priced- a great value! I would stay here again

 
Nutmeg stay

Posted: Mar 3, 2018

Wonderful cabin!! Miss it already! It would have been great to use the hottub more.. like maybe put a awning over the deck.. but the owners are wonderful and we will be back!!

 
Best Location for Quiet Time.

Posted: Feb 21, 2018

Took my girlfriend for a 5 day getaway over the Valentine's Day week. The cabin was clean. The hot tub was great. Staff was friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy. Will be returning.

 
Great

Posted: Jan 29, 2018

Great cabin. Lovely setting. Very friendly staff.

 
Cabin

Posted: Jan 20, 2018

The cabin was awesome. The couch is uncomfortable and the kitchen chairs are unstable. The bedrooms could use a dresser and maybe a sitting area.

 
Excellent

Posted: Jan 13, 2018

Loved it

 
A Great Place To Stay!

Posted: Jan 4, 2018

Wonderful visit. Richard and Frank were very friendly and accommodating. My children and I really enjoyed the Big Leaf cabin. It was a bargin and was well stocked with towels, pots, pans, etc...Very clean. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Really enjoyed the Green River ferry ride on the way to Mammoth Cave! Thanks for a great weekend getaway! Frank Langley and Family

 
Hickory Haven Heaven

Posted: Dec 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time with family and friends. Memories were made. We stated in and watched Christmas movies. Only problem we had was one of the dish controlers were missing. You need to update you guide to eating places some of them are closed. I have suggestion of possible improvements: replace the tv stand on main level with a corner electric fire place with a place to put dvd, dish box and tv on top. replace sofa with new hide a bed broiler pan enclose the bunk bed/laundry area to make more privet just in case, as we did, there are all couples and not kids. We have been asked by friend, after the saw pic we took, where we stayed. I gave them your information. I want to thank you again for working with us so we didn't lose our deposit. Dale and Brenda Whitt

 


Posted: Nov 27, 2017

 
Great Stay! Can't wait to come back!

Posted: Nov 21, 2017

This was the most fabulous group vacation we have ever had! A group of eight friends spent three nights in Hickory Haven and had the time of our lives. The cabin was amazing and perfectly set up for what we needed. Very clean and comfortable and we didn’t feel like we were tripping over each other all the time. It was well equipped with the basics including plenty of towels. Having a washer and dryer available was also a great bonus! The setting was so peaceful and private. With the group we had the economical side of the cabin plus food expenses made this a great deal besides everyone being all together instead of being in a hotel in separate rooms and eating out at restaurants all the time. The hot tub was also a nice treat after a long day of kayaking the Green River or walking through the caves. Our group loves to hang out at campfires so the fire pit and grill made this perfect for us as well. We stayed in October, and even though it was a little cooler, we were all abl

 


Posted: Nov 14, 2017

A clean and cozy cabin in a private setting with all of the amenities needed! We loved it! Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

 
Fantastic Hideaway in KY Hills

Posted: Nov 10, 2017

Our family of 4 stayed at Hickory Haven for 3 nights and it couldn't have been more comfortable. We had plenty of room to spread out and the kids loved having the lower level all to themselves. Check in was easy and we were given great recommendations for things to do and ways to get around. We were there in the fall so the ladybug beetles were out in full force. This was no fault of the cabin owners, but it did get buggy. Otherwise the cabin was very tidy and had all the comforts we could possibly need for our stay.

 


Posted: Oct 15, 2017

Me and my wife had a awesome time the cabin was exactly what we needed for a quiet get away. Very comfy and acomadating to our needs we will definitely keep this one in the books for a return visit

 


Posted: Oct 8, 2017

We stayed at Nutmeg for our 9 year wedding anniversary and it was absolutely perfect! Nice private little cabin just big enough for the two us and close to Mammoth Cave National Park. Everything was so clean and neat. The hot tub was awesome at night after a long day of hiking in the caves. Richard and his dad were amazing at check in and showed us where the cabin was located and walked us around the cabin to make sure we knew where everything was and how to work everything. We will be back!

 


Posted: Oct 2, 2017

Everything was great. Very nice place: clean, comfortable and very relaxing stay.

 
M & M

Posted: Sep 26, 2017

We had a great stay at the Big Leaf cabin. It was just two of us, so we had plenty of space to spread out and be comfortable. Richard was wonderful to get us all check in and show us the cabin. He even told us of a great hiking trail, the Cedar Sink. If we find ourselves heading back to Mammoth Cave, we'll sure be staying here again.

 
Amazing

Posted: Sep 21, 2017

We had an amazing time and the location is beautiful! Our only issue was the switch in the bathroom had a short in it. It was frustrating because we could not get the fan to go off on multiple occasions and it was loud. Besides that, we had an amazing time!

Manager Response: We apologize for the problem you had with the switch, it has been replaced.

 
Eclipse and Mammoth Cave Trip

Posted: Aug 28, 2017

We had a great time at the Big Leaf Cabin. They were very accommodating with us arriving a little late because of the extra heavy traffic after the Total Eclipse. The cabin was perfect. It was clean and comfortable. The shower felt so good after the long day we had. The AC was was working perfect to keep us cool because it was quite hot and humid. The kids had a great time sleeping in the loft. The big beds were not quite like home but that was not what I was expecting. I would go back.

 
Great Cabin and Experience!

Posted: Aug 23, 2017

Really enjoyed this little vacation. Cabin was very nice and exceptionally clean. Owner was also very nice and even offered tips on attractions and shared some area information/coupons. If I visit the area again I would re-book.

 
Nutmeg

Posted: Aug 19, 2017

Hickory cabins is a beautiful place to get away to. We celebrated our 4 yr wedding anniversary at nutmeg it was perfect!! was everything we thought it would be. Nutmeg was very clean and stocked with all the right items. Great job on hickory cabins staff. Richard and Frank very helpful made us feel welcomed, live the walk thru as well. Thank you again for a remarkable get away. The Brooks.

 


Posted: Aug 9, 2017

 
Wonderful Stay!

Posted: Aug 1, 2017

We had a great stay at Big Leaf and wish we could have stayed a few more days! My daughter loved the loft! We actually ended up eating dinner in both nights and it was great to have the kitchen and everything we need to cook right there. It was very comfortable, homey, and most especially clean. Thank you for a great home away form home!

 
Fantastic Cabin!

Posted: Jul 31, 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Hickory Haven! The cabin was clean, neat and well stocked. Beautiful location! The staff were extremely helpful and informative. Wish the new hot tub (we stayed in May) had been finished! We will stay again in the future!

 
Beautiful & private getaway

Posted: Jul 25, 2017

We stayed in nutmeg for a week and it was the perfect little getaway. The comfortable cabin was nicely secluded yet close to Mammoth Cave and a few larger towns. We went on cave tours, canoed the Green River, went through the Lost River Cave and even caught a movie.The owners were exceptionally helpful and kind. We would absolutely return for another trip.

 
Wonderful Stay, Beautiful Cabins and surrounding area

Posted: Jul 22, 2017

Had a great time. The cabin was perfect. Lots of area outside for grilling and campfires, and some corn hole games. Rounded out our stay with a family reunion at Mammoth Cave. Wonderful quality time with the family.

 
Hickory Cabins

Posted: Jul 19, 2017

Loved the cabin rental. Very nice. Clean, and well maintained. Richard was great! Would highly recommend Hickory Cabins for anyone heading to Mammoth Cave and the surrounding area!!

 
An Absolutely Fantastic Getaway

Posted: Jul 4, 2017

Everything about this cabin was fan-freakin-tastic!!! Upon entering, my was welcomed in a clean, well kept, amazing smelling cabin! Big Leaf is next to the smaller cabin, but there is enough distance to still feel secluded. We explored the surrounding wood, was a perfect distance from the ferry and national park...there is also a nifty little store a couple minutes away (w/o having to cross ferry) this was so perfect and enjoyable, I have no words but HIGHLY recommend. My family has decided this will be an annual trip. Loved It!

 
First time stay in the big leaf cabin

Posted: Jun 20, 2017

We had a wonderful time, the cabin was everything we expected and needed. It was clean and spacious, the location was perfect.

 
Wonderfil

Posted: Jun 20, 2017

Everything we were expecting and hoping for!

 
Perfect cabin to explore Mammoth Caves

Posted: Jun 8, 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Hickory Haven and would highly recommend it! The cabin is very well laid out with interesting architecture and decks on each level. Frank and Richard were very helpful and accommodated our late arrival. Frank showed us the entire cabin upon arrival and made us feel very welcome. Our kids loved having their own bedroom level and enjoyed the hot tub after a day of hiking. It was a little tricky to figure out where to check in, but if we had more day light, it may have been better. The drive into the park was easy, and there was plenty of information about things to do in the area. Overall, great experience!

 
Big leaf perfection

Posted: May 20, 2017

The big leaf cabin was perfect. It is beautiful and quiet. We were very close to mammoth cave. The cabin was very well stocked with fresh towels and the kitchen had everything we needed. I have already recommended this cabin to my friends. Highly recommend!

 
A dream vacation

Posted: Apr 20, 2017

We stayed at the Nutmeg cabin for only 2 nights. I wish we could have stayed longer! They were the best 2 nights I've had in years. So peaceful and relaxing.

 
awesome stay

Posted: Apr 12, 2017

Stayed in the cabin with my son over his spring break. Had an awesome time and i think next year I'll bring my wife and other two kids also. Very nice set up in the cabins, and very close to the park.

 
Spring Break 2017

Posted: Apr 6, 2017

Our stay at Hickory Haven was wonderful. The cabin was spacious and clean. The owners were very accommodating. We would love to stay again some time and would recommend it to our friends visiting the Mammoth Cave area.

 
Big Leaf

Posted: Mar 21, 2017

This was a very nice cabin to stay with our family. The size was perfect for our family of 5. The 2 younger girls enjoyed the loft, while the older girl enjoyed having her own room with a queen size bed. The kitchen needs a little more light above the sink area as it seemed too dark when preparing food, especially in the evening. It was cool on our stay unfortunately, but that didn't affect our stay in the cabin. It was very clean and a pleasure to stay here.

 
Awesome cabin

Posted: Mar 15, 2017

We loved it peaceful and quiet. Nestled in the woods. Great place to stay.

 
Great customer service & facility!

Posted: Mar 3, 2017

The cabin was clean and well equipped for a nice weekend stay. Richard and Frank were both great to work with. Thank you again for great stay!

 
A great little diamond in the rough

Posted: Jan 21, 2017

Our weekend there was a great time although we were not able to take full advantage of what was offered at the cabin. Everything was clean and well maintained and very private, a perfect place to get away to relax

 
Immaculate!

Posted: Jan 14, 2017

This was a wonderful experience for us, SO close to Mammoth! It was very cold, 11 degrees, snow on the ground. The cabin was warm and well-appointed. We will be back again. Thank you!

 
Great Honeymoon Stay

Posted: Jan 9, 2017

My new wife and I enjoyed our honeymoon here at the Nutmeg cabin. It was cozy and equipped with just the right things for our 2 night stay. I would definitely recommend this cabin to any couple looking for a nice get-away!