Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 17, 2019

Such a great place!

 
Girls trip to Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 1, 2019

Beautiful lodge in the perfect setting on the Chilkoot River...owner and staff took great care of us... thank you so much for making our visit the best...Judy, Linda and Theresa

 
Love Haines. Love the Chilkoot Haven.

Posted: Aug 29, 2019

As always staying at the Chilkoot Haven is a wonderful experience. We saw the bears, the eagles and the fish. No matter the weather, we were warm and the view was stunning. Thanks for sharing this place with us.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 12, 2019

Truly an amazing place and far away from every day life.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 4, 2019

Great place to stay!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Comfy Room with Fantastic View

Posted: Jul 31, 2019

Room was very clean and nicely furnished. Very comfortable beds. View overlooking the Chilkoot River and we could see the salmon jumping on their way up the river to spawn. We saw an eagle catch a fish and then struggle to stay airborne as it carried away its catch. Would definitely stay here again.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Excellent

Posted: Jul 24, 2019

Lovely room, gracious host, a great hot tub and a unparalleled view of the Chilkoot River. I’m telling all my friends to stay there and I will stay again. Reservations were very easy.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Fantastic !

Posted: Jul 9, 2019

Here is a magic, calm, awesome place! We were welcomed by a grizzly bear and her three cubs, just on the other bank of this marvelous river... We spent three nights, in a really relaxing and fabulous place. Bbq, jacuzzi... what else?

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 5, 2019

Super séjour. Une vue magnifique et un spot de pêche de rêve. Jacuzzi et barbecue au rendez-vous On a vu des ours et des aigles tous les jours Sue et sa famille sont très accueillantes. On nous a fait sentir comme à la maison (Great stay. A magnificent view and a dream fishing spot. Jacuzzi and barbecue at the rendezvous. We saw bears and eagles every day. Sue and her family are very welcoming. We were made to feel at home)

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 27, 2019

Fantastic place to stay. Highly recommend

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 17, 2019

Chilkoot Haven is amazing. Stunning scenery, all the amenities and very clean. Would love to come back during the salmon run.

 


Posted: Jun 13, 2019

 


Posted: May 31, 2019

We had a wonderful time. The accommodations were everything we needed. It was a beautiful view and we enjoyed just watching the eagles and the bears. Sue was a delight. We can’t wait to return.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Peaceful and wonderful

Posted: Apr 23, 2019

The scenery is spectacular. The hostess was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and decently stocked; the hot tub and heated floors were much appreciated after a cool day hiking! We will return!!

 
Excellent

Posted: Oct 18, 2018

It was quiet clean and warm right on the river. Photographed several bears and bald eagles . I would recommend anybody that the Chilkoot Haven is a great place to stay. I’ll plan on going back in the future, thanks. Peter Johnston

 
Chilkoot Haven Review

Posted: Oct 16, 2018

This is a place we in the North take for granted. It is one of the most beautiful places to stay, watch the circle of life and fish. Great location, lovely warm clean rooms..simply love this place.

 
Stunning setting and wonderful location.

Posted: Oct 9, 2018

Our family came to view the bears and we were not disappointed. The room gave us a setting that would be hard to find anywhere else in Alaska. We will be back again.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Best possible location in Haines to watch bears & eagles

Posted: Sep 24, 2018

As the saying goes, in real estate there are three key factors: location, location and location. And the Chilkoot Haven got them all! The view from the porch onto the river is just amazing - you can watch bald eagles and bears directly from there, or take a walk down some stairs to get direct access to the river. There are only 3 rooms here in the Haven, so the place never felt crowded, and chances are you meet other wildlife enthusiasts on the porch. My room itself was clean and well equipped - nothing fancy, but with a comfy bed, a hot shower in the morning, a table with two chairs to sit, a microwave and a fridge, you get everything you need to enjoy your stay. I didn't use the BBQ grill or hot tub that are available for all guests. Haines is a 20 minute drive away if you want to restock or grab something to eat, but if you're into wildlife I can almost guarantee that you won't be leaving the area until you have to! I stayed for two nights and enjoyed it immensely.

 
Wonderful time at Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Sep 9, 2018

Room was great - like a kitchenette with 2 queen beds. Was like being home and not in a hotel - lots of little things that made it feel homey - like real sheets, not the starched white ones in the hotels. Fabulous view of the river and the weir - but bring your binoculars so you can see all the action. BBQ, hot tub and picnic tables were used by people staying on either side of us both nights we were there. Loved the owner - it was like staying in her home. Would stay there again in a heartbeat and will likely plan future trips to Haines AK around their availability which we did this time.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 14, 2018

We stayed 3 days and just loved watching the bears and eagles from the verandah. Highly recommend this stunning location. Clean and comfortable unit. Sensational! P and M from Tasmania ????

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 3, 2018

Such a wonderful place for relaxing. Hosts are very friendly. Great location

 
Chilkoot Haven: Stunning Spot

Posted: Aug 2, 2018

Amazing location right on the Chilkoot River. Doesnt get much better than sitting in the outdoor hot tub, looking out over fishermen in waders looking for salmon, the odd bear sneaking in for dinner and the constant sound of river water. Pretty much paradise! Rooms were nice, check in/out was easy. Shame we couldn't stay longer!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 29, 2018

My family and I all loved our time at the lodge! The setting is spectacular, the fishing is first-rate, and the town is charming. Thank you for a wonderful experience! We will always remember the beauty of the river and the bears.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Stunning view

Posted: Jul 22, 2018

Even though it was my third time at Chilkoot Haven when I opened the door I gasped in shock at the magnificent view out the patio door . The rooms are simple but the atmosphere in the surrounding wilderness is spiritually cleansing and beautiful .

 
Chilkoot Haven: Absolutely awesome!!! even better than we remembered.

Posted: Jul 16, 2018

Magnificent. It felt so close to nature. The pillows were devine. What kind are they? For the fellow who experienced your magical setting for the first time: he was awe struck and so appreciative for the moment of wonder. Thank you for the opportunity to share with my family such outstanding beauty. It makes our hearts glad to feel the spirit of nature.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Beyond Description!

Posted: Jul 15, 2018

Chilkoot Haven is beyond description, but we’ll try. Each unit is immaculate and well supplied. Between the barbecue grill and microwave we were able to eat in as much as we wanted during our six night stay. The setting is spectacular. We were able to photograph eagles and fly fisherman catching salmon without leaving our porch. Brown bears strolling around added to the enjoyment. Finally, Sue, the owner, is a wonderful person and a gracious host. We hope to return next year!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 11, 2018

I just wanted to say I give you 5 stars. It really is a beautiful place. We had a wonderful stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 3, 2018

Gorgeous! Our room and its view took our breath away. We would've loved to stay much longer.

 
A Piece of Paradise

Posted: Jun 8, 2018

Chilkoot Haven was a special place that was awesome! It was so peaceful and tranquil looking out over the Chilkoot river watching bald headed eagles floating in the air and to our amazement and pleasure a grizzly bear meandered along the river edge! Our room was so comfortable and with extra considered amenities such as towels for the hot tub, rubber sandals for outdoors and what a nice touch to have the muffins for our first breakfast. It was beautiful! So much so that we would truly love to come back and instead of staying 2 days we are talking about one week! Thank you for such a wonderful piece of paradise and your kindness throughout the booking process and more! Inis and Andy

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: May 30, 2018

Lovely room and accomodations with a fantastic view!!! We will be back!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Apr 18, 2018

Staying at Chilkoot Haven was amazing—the space and host is incredible. We stayed here before and love to stop and visit when passing through Haines.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jan 10, 2018

Beautiful place, super clean and cozy, only wish I could have stayed longer!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Beautiful spot!

Posted: Dec 24, 2017

Very nice place, super friendly owner, great hot tub and view, and in floor heating! Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone traveling to Haines. Only criticism is the off season rates are too high, especially for Canadians with the exchange rate. Otherwise, amazing!

Manager Response: We do offer a 10% discount for Canadians in an effort to help with the exchange rate.

 
Chilkoot Haven: BEST PLACE IN HAINES

Posted: Dec 23, 2017

As soon as we pulled up and saw the notice on the door welcoming us, I knew that this would be a pleasant experience. The room was clean and tidy, the view was magical and the hot tub was superb. All in all a tremendous experience that I shan't not forget.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Dec 12, 2017

Beautiful location better than you could imagine wonderfully cozy environment extremely clean very kind and great owner of the property was there which we were very lucky to meet the owner. The view is exceptional wonderful. Walks from the home and the river and Lake are just amazing! Anyone coming to Haines would be missing out if they didn't stay here! I will add that I like being a little bit out in the country so this is not in town however it's very simple to get to town within 15-20 minutes by car. I'm definitely going to come back! :-) also for anyone coming in the winter time it's extremely easy to get up to the house and very warm so if you're wondering if you should come in the picture this is definitely a great place to stay all year round!

 
Chilkoot Haven room 2 Nov. 6 2017

Posted: Nov 10, 2017

We had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much. Beautiful location clean and comfortable room!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 31, 2017

Fantastic location!!! We are so glad we chose this place, loved the view of the river and enjoyed wildlife including a grizzly without even needing to leave our porch.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 31, 2017

We loved our stay! We will for sure be staying at the Chilkoot haven from now on when visiting Haines. Everything was perfect. Looking forward to our future bookings!!!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Sep 26, 2017

I have nothing negative to say about our stay. It was a perfect location and a wonderful room. The owner was very nice too. This spot was the highlight of our Alaskan trip. Thank you

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Sep 17, 2017

 
Spectacular Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Sep 7, 2017

We arrived late in the dark and could only hear the river outside out lovely and well-appointed room. The beds were very comfortable, everything was clean and there were even muffins set out for breakfast! The real treat was opening the curtains in the morning and seeing the most spectacular river view! It was breathtaking and a bear even came out to say good morning (and get his breakfast!). I wish we had more time to stay but I will return again and recommend it 110% as a place to stay in Haines.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the view was outstanding. We intend on returning!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Stunning view

Posted: Jul 28, 2017

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for two nights in Haines. Along the Chilkoot River in the state park. Views of fly fisherman all day, and even saw bears roaming. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 25, 2017

Stunning!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Best place to stay in Haines

Posted: Jul 18, 2017

Haines is beautiful, so much to see. And yet I kept wanting to be back in my room enjoying the view. Quality throughout the whole place, warm, extremely comfortable beds, quilts on the bed, heated floors, this place is better than being home. I almost want to give it bad reviews so I can keep the secret to myself.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 11, 2017

The view of river, eagles and occasional bears are a bonus to this comfortable room. The heated floors and comfy linens are great. A little bit out of town and well worth the privacy. Close to a lake at end of road and near a fun outing with takshanuk tours! This was a wonderful surprise for us. Everything was so updated and private. It was an unexpected view of the eagles. Thanks for a great stay

 
Amazing Stay!

Posted: Jun 29, 2017

Hello! Our stay at the Chilkoot was amazing! The only thing I could complain about is that it was too short a visit. Erica was super friendly and helpful, and the room was beautiful! Clean, beautiful quilts and amenities and great view! It was awesome too that it was so close to Chilkoot Lake! Would definitely stay there again. Thank you!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 28, 2017

We were very happy with location, hotel was clean and well equipped, staff friendly and helpful. We loved our stay.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 15, 2017

We had an AMAZING time at Chilkoot. We saw a family of grizzlys from across the river (our view from the patio outside our room) as well as other wildlife. The room was clean, cozy, and very comfortable. Our host Erika immediately welcomed us to Chilkoot Haven and shared some stories with us we will never forget. Amazing location, amazing accomodations, and even better host! Had such a good time here!!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 1, 2017

This was one of the most scenic rooms we have ever had. Breath taking view of the river and mountain. On site manager is gracious and friendly. Our room had 2 comfortable queen beds. The small kitchen with microwave was more than adequate for our stay. I would have liked to use the grilling area but we did not have time. We really enjoyed sitting on the patio area overlooking the river watching the eagles and ducks work.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: May 27, 2017

Loved the location. Never saw so many eagles and it wasn't even peak salmon season yet. Didn't see any bears but only because we had fallen asleep when they came to the river. Quality materials used in the construction of the rooms, attention to detail. Comfy bed! Erica the property manager was very informative and helpful.

 
Chilkoot Haven: So WOW!

Posted: May 24, 2017

When we came at first it was a little bit cool in the room, it took a while to heat, but this is a splendide place in such a wonderful spot. We saw many eagles fishing for food, it was a special time. Would defenitly go back!

 
Chilkoot Haven: First Rate

Posted: Oct 17, 2016

Second time staying at this property and the best we have experienced in Haines.

 
Chilkoot Haven: A Gem of a Find

Posted: Oct 15, 2016

If you want to wake up and look out your window to hear a quietly babbling river punctuated with the conversation of Eagles, open your eyes to wander up the Chilkoot river, all without leaving your bed...possibly see bears fishing, well this is it. My friend and I were able to cook all our meals there with the help of a BBQ and burner on the BBQ as well as the little kitchenette in the room. Access to pots, toaster, grilling utensils and so on. ( had to cook food that was gluten and dairy free making restaurants awkward). It could not have been better. For fishermen, there is a freezer available. Very comfortable beds, in a nicely decorated room. A real treasure in Haines.

 
Certainly Going Back!

Posted: Oct 12, 2016

Our Thanksgiving at the Chilkoot Haven was amazing. The view is stunning. Nothing beats having your morning coffee on the deck listening to the river below and watching eagles and bears hunt for their breakfast. We'll certainly be back.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 10, 2016

An excellent booking experience, especially appreciated when our ferry from Skagway was cancelled, and we needed to change dates. Location is amazing(we had stayed here before & wanted friends from Toronto to see it). Very comfortable and clean rooms. Wonderful bear, eagle and seal wildlife viewing. The best place to stay in Haines from our experience of nearly 50 years. Thank you to all the people who made it possible

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 4, 2016

Five Stars!

 
Excellent stay at Chilkoot Haven- thank you!

Posted: Oct 3, 2016

Amazing view and the host Sue is so lovely. Thanks for a wonderful stay! It was a great way for my Australian friend to see SouthEast Alaska!

 


Posted: Sep 21, 2016

Our experience at Chilkoot Haven was awesome!! Your place is lovely and would like to come back some day! It was a special treat to be able to see the bears from the deck and then drive down to the river. The sound of the river and the eagles was very soothing. Our only constructive criticism would be to suggest a fan so we could get the air moving...left the window open, but it was a bit stuffy :) Would definitely recommend this awesome place to our friends!

 
A little piece of heaven near Haines Alaska, called Chilkoot Haven Lodge will satisfy all your needs

Posted: Sep 20, 2016

This was our third stay at Chilkoot Haven Lodge our other stays were in 2011 and 2012. We have never been disappointed with our choice even though the salmon run was poor this year there was still plenty of fishing and bear photography to fill your days. The beauty and location of the lodge is superb with the Chilkoot River only steps away with bears, eagles, salmon and even Harbour Seals coming and going all day. The facilities are splendid with a great barbecue area for preparing your meals of fresh fish or what ever you enjoy having. The owner Sue Folletti is always a very accommodating host and along with her sister Kathy will ensure your stay is a memorable one. We went to sleep each night listening to the Chilkoot River flowing by on it's way to the ocean a short distance away, and woke up each morning to the cries of eagles and gulls along the river. There is really only one very bad thing about Chilkoot Haven Lodge and that is having to leave at the end of your stay, it's hard.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Simply beautiful!

Posted: Sep 9, 2016

Quiet, quaint and relaxing!

 
Excellent!

Posted: Aug 12, 2016

Room was very clean and ready for us upon arrival. The view was amazing over the river. The room next to us was occupied, but it was still quiet and enjoyable. It would be helpful if driving directions could be improved on the email. Perhaps there could be detailed instructions given depending on where you are driving from (ex: the ferry, Haines Junction) as we had to stop in town and ask. Otherwise, thank you for a wonderful experience and we will definitely recommend Chilkoot Haven to others.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 10, 2016

5 stars!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 8, 2016

This was our second visit at the lodge.the lodge is very well kept and very comfortable. The weather was terrific and so was the fishing. The staff is always accommodating and very helpful. The BBQ facilities and kitchenette allow meals to made on site, a great feature as Haines is approximately 15 min out.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 26, 2016

The location is the best place in Haines if you have plans to fish the Chilkoot River or Lake. The view is spectacular even on rainy/windy days since the terrace is well protected from the elements. I appreciated the little things like fresh ground coffee and breakfast muffins. We had dinner using the common BBQ and eating area with some other guests which was the highlight of our trip.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Strategic location on river bend of Chilkoot

Posted: Jul 22, 2016

Loved the scenic views-away from town-after all that is why you come to Alaska-but FIY it's not that far from everything you need-restaurants, etc. Highly recommend spending time in beautiful Haines. Eagles, bears, snowcapped mtns, lakes and rivers...a short 1/2 awesome flight from Juneau which doubles as a sightseeing flight-our pilot took us over rainbow glacier for extra views-what more could you ask for. Ruthie from Fresno, California

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 27, 2016

Our second time to stay in these very comfortable rooms. The view is fantastic the weather was great and also very quiet and peaceful. To sit out on your own back patio and look right down on the river was very pleasant. We watched and photographed the new baby Mergansers (ducks). We were too early for the salmon run and to photograph the Brown Bears make their catch.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 13, 2016

We loved are stay with you and have recommended your place to all of are friends thanks

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: May 17, 2016

This was an awesome stay. Very nice and great hospitality. Recommend this place. It is very relaxing. If you like fishing this place is right on the river.