Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 17, 2019

Everything was great, it's just the wifi...it works great in room 1, not so great in room 2 but still a bar, sometimes 2 but room 3 is nothing. I had kids and employees in town that I had to keep in contact with so I always had to go to the end of the porch area and stand at the post by the main house to reconnect to the wifi. Would be great if you could get a booster so that it would work better in the end room by the hot tub. Everything else was great. Thanks again!!

 
Chilkoot Haven: The best place in Haines!

Posted: Oct 1, 2019

We had invited company north for a girls only fishing trip. We saw Northern lights..20 bear sightings and great fishing. We really had the best place in Haines to stay ..it is my favorite place to stay while in Haines. Great hospitality..again. thank you for another great visit!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Fantastic Experience

Posted: Sep 22, 2019

We loved our stay. We came to relax and watch bears and we got both. We were able to watch right from our room , the hot tub and our porch. And the bears preformed well! Bears were out fishing morning and evening even though the weather wasn’t perfect. . Nice staff and very hospitable. Power was out in entire region when we arrived and the hosts did everything to make us comfy.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Its a Haven alright!!

Posted: Sep 18, 2019

Always enjoyed my stay.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 28, 2019

Absolutely fabulous location...river..fish...bears & great lodging...small and friendly! Sit on front porch and watch bears in the river with an amazing backdrop view. You do not want to leave!!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Wonderful accommodations

Posted: Aug 20, 2019

Our party occupied rooms 1-3 and we loved them. The beds were super comfy and Sue and friends did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. We hated to leave. I highly recommend Chilkoot Haven!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 17, 2019

 
Chilkoot Haven Annual trip

Posted: Aug 6, 2019

My daughter and I have been taking an annual trip to Haines for the past 12 years. If we can't stay at the Haven when we want...we change the date so we can have the perfect spot to stay. It's ideally situated to walk across the street in chest waders to catch salmon or sit on your deck and watch the grizzlies walk by the river. It is honestly the best place to stay while visiting Haines in my opinion.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 2, 2019

The facility is comprised of 3 units, in a motel-style layout, with the owner (Sue) residing in the main building attached. Each unit is about the size of a typical motel room, but has a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, kettle, and various plates and cutlery that can be used. There is also a barbeque grill that is available for cooking, which is very handy. Sue will also lend you pots, pans, and other cooking gear if you need it. The location is within Chilkoot State Park, about a 15 minute drive from Haines. It is a beautiful location, and there are usually a number of people fishing in the river out front. Chilkoot Lake is about a 5 - 10 minute further drive down the road, and is definitely worth a visit. Be aware, the road is in rough shape in many places, so if you arrive at night, don't drive too fast! Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want a relaxing retreat away from the main town.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Amazing stay!!

Posted: Jul 31, 2019

My husband and I go there almost every year and absolutely love it!! The views and accommodations are well worth the price! Friendly service, clean room, and views!! Highly recommend

 
Great

Posted: Jul 8, 2019

Our stay at Chilkoot Haven was great. Very clean!!! Best views ever and the owners were very nice and hospitable. would definitely stay again!!!

 
Chilkoot Heaven

Posted: Jul 7, 2019

Chilkoot Haven is truly an incredibly beautiful and peaceful place. The location is stunning. From the moment we arrived we did not want to leave the deck overlooking the Chilkoot River. Bald eagles were nesting nearby and the bears, We understand, were getting ready for the annual salmon run. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Access to the shared grill was wonderful. All the basic plates and utensils are provided for self-catering. We stayed an extra day and felt like family when we left. We hope to return again soon. Highly recommended!!

 
Chilkoot Haven room #3

Posted: Jun 6, 2019

Stumbled upon this terrific spot by accident after our reservations at another spot were suddenly canceled. Turns out, that was a blessing. Chilkoot Haven is an oasis of wonderful. Nice rooms with kitchenettes, great woodsy location along the Chilkoot Creek, gorgeous creek, mountain, eagle and bear views from the room, hot tub and an easy and scenic 9 mile drive to town. I'm from Juneau and I'll be coming back for romantic weekend get aways with my wife. Love the place so much I almost don't want to let others know about it.... There's wifi connectivity but it's somewhat limited. Other than that, it was simply a fantastic place to stay and highly recommended.

 
My happy place

Posted: Oct 27, 2018

Fall colours fall bears and fall weather, a great stay on our third visit to Chilkoot Haven.

 
RichelleB

Posted: Oct 10, 2018

Such a serene setting. Loved it.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Sep 11, 2018

Special place to stay Booked all three rooms for my family... a vacation we will never forget...great location, beautiful view....Sue (owner) was wonderful, such a caring person....cant say enough about stay...location,bears, eagles......my daughter in law sums it up "magicial " We will visit again....

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Sep 9, 2018

People are always driving here to see the bears while we just sat on the patio and they were right in front of us. The bears are here because there's a weir to stop the fish. We saw a mother with 3 cubs chase another bear up the hill. We could also see an eagle nest so plenty of action with them. The room was clean and good kitchenette. The view up the river is beautiful.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Quintessential Alaska

Posted: Sep 7, 2018

We have stayed here numerous times over the years. Sue (the owner) is lovely, the rooms are super clean, the view is spectacular, and the bears are just the icing on the cake!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Sep 6, 2018

An Amazing location, Good spot to just sit and enjoy the view. Walks down a quiet road. Enjoyed a campfire down beside the river on the summer solstice. Very friendly welcome and reception.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Fantastic Accomodation

Posted: Sep 4, 2018

We stayed at Chilkoot Haven for one night at the end of August and wished it could have been more. The rooms were clean, well appointed, and the location above the Chilkoot River was incredible. We watched bears stroll the river from our deck and even caught a salmon while fishing the section of river right in front of the property. I would recommend staying at Chilkoot Haven as a unique and beautiful experience for any traveler.

 
Chilkoot Haven: A perfect stay

Posted: Aug 23, 2018

It was a perfect stay. Our host was very friendly and supported us in any request. The room is clean and view on the river with bears is marvelous. We can recommend it to every nature-lovers. .

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 20, 2018

Wonderful place. We enjoyed watching the fishing bears!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Amazing Stay

Posted: Aug 19, 2018

Location is perfect. Room is beautiful and functional. View is breathtaking! Lots and lots of bears. On average 10-15 per day! 1,000's & 1,000's of photos!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Loved every minute of staying here!

Posted: Jul 31, 2018

This is the only place we will stay when we come to Haines! The hospitality was fantastic and the view was amazing! We loved it!

 
Best view ever!

Posted: Jul 25, 2018

Wonderful, well appointed room with a deck that had the best view ever! Watched a momma grizzly with three cubs work their way down the river for an hour! Saw then again the next morning!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 9, 2018

I would highly recommend the Chilkoot Haven. The room was spacious, clean, modern and provides an incredible view of the flowing waters. Very peaceful and quiet in the heart of wilderness.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Better than home

Posted: Jul 4, 2018

This is the second year I've stayed here. It's my home while in Haines. Clean, comfortable, quiet, great views, hot tub and grill... what more could you ask for?

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 12, 2018

We had a great time. The place was clean and all we needed. It was convenient. We would recommend it highly.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: May 28, 2018

Thanks for a wonderful stay. What an incredible place - we loved the hot tub, but especially the view!

 
Everything as expected and more.

Posted: May 11, 2018

I have stayed at Chilkoot Haven in the past and will continue to stay there. The facilities are comfortable, quiet and very clean. The view is spectacular. This trip I was lucky enough to experience the wildlife extravaganza associated with the annual run of hooligan. I watched Eagles, gulls and other birds fishing as I drank my delicious morning coffee in my room.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: May 1, 2018

Probably the most beautiful Airbnb of Haines. The view is amazing. Open your window when you sleep, and you will wake up in the morning to the sound of ahundred birds. The beds are extremely comfy, everything's clean the spa was great.

 
Chilkoot Haven: I’d spend time here every year

Posted: Feb 4, 2018

Second time to stay here, wonderful place, wish I could visit every year!!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Nov 24, 2017

Thank you! We had an excellent stay and look forward to returning soon. The property was very well maintained, and the room we stayed in was spacious and well appointed. We highly recommend Chilkoot Haven without hesitation. Dr. R. Brian Rivera Uncapher

 
Chilkoot Haven: Very pleasant winter stay

Posted: Nov 17, 2017

We loved the heated floor in our room and the hot tub with view of the river. Great place to stay with kids.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Nov 7, 2017

The room we get at Chilkoot Haven is so warm and comfortable and welcoming that we don't even think of coming to Haines unless we can stay there! :-)

 
Chilkoot haven

Posted: Nov 4, 2017

Sometimes in life you find a place that is just perfect. Chilkoot haven is that place, quiet clean and very comfortable. Owner sue takes great care of you with an added First Nations flair makes this a must place to stay. Thank you Randa for the updated road reports, a great team.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Very pleasant room and location

Posted: Oct 30, 2017

We just stayed one night and everything was clean, quiet, with a beautiful view. We hope to go back to Haines and stay longer.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Great stay!

Posted: Oct 24, 2017

We spent two nights here in October, and it couldn't have been nicer. Randa was very helpful prior to arrival, and the accommodations were great. Beds were comfortable, the room was clean, dishes were provided in the kitchenette, and a nice surprise: the hot tub was still on! We really appreciated having the small table and chairs in the room, it made all the difference giving our two children a place to colour and eat. We will be back!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 10, 2017

This is absolutely the best place in the world to enjoy. The rooms are big and comfortable and have kitchen areas. Everything is awesomely clean. The floors are wonderfully warm in cold weather and the beds are just right. The view is one in a million. The booking procedure is clear and Randa takes care of everything in a friendly way and very very competently. We always stay at Chilcoot Haven. it has become a much-treasured part of every trip to Haines.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Oct 2, 2017

Fantastic stay. The room was perfect, the place was quiet and welcoming, and the bears were there on cue. We enjoyed the BBQ facilities, the owner and staff's pleasant and relaxed ways and the exceptional setting. A gem.

 
THE HAVEN !!!!!

Posted: Sep 9, 2017

We have been staying at the Chilkoot Lodge for quite a number of years, and its the ideal place for a visit, serene is how I would describe my stay. Thanks! Sue Stowers

 
Fantastic stay!

Posted: Sep 1, 2017

My daughter and I had a wonderful two night stay. It truly lived up to its' perfect review rating - exceeded my expectations - I agree with the reviewer who said that if you don't like Chilkhoot Haven, you won't like heaven! I was concerned that two nights would be too long as Haines is a very small town and Chilkhoot Haven is 10 miles outside of town but two days wasn't long enough - double that would be great. We were there Aug 22-23 during the salmon run. Tons of salmon and we had a great time watching two 3 year old grizzly siblings frolic on the flats near the ocean, sneak onto the weir, and fish for salmon in the river. Lots of bald eagles as well. Beautiful scenery. Rooms also appear to be newly renovated, even nicer than in the online pictures. Made good use of the barbecue, just bought groceries at the Haines IGA. Lovely "neighbours" in the other two rooms who shared our interest in the wildlife. Erica was very accommodating, and the owner, Sue, was charming and welcoming, ga

 
Chilkoot Haven Room 3

Posted: Aug 19, 2017

My stay at Chilkoot Haven Room 3 was everything that I expected: Beautiful room, beautiful view of the Chilkoot River with all the fishermen and bear. It was a wish of mine to one day to visit Haines and stay at the Chilkoot Haven. The next time I visit, my stay will be more than one day! Thank you.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 17, 2017

We very much enjoyed the stay - everything was fine, as usual.

 
Chilkoot Haven: Magnificent place

Posted: Aug 12, 2017

The Chilkoot River alone makes staying here worth every dollar. Staff was friendly and super kind.

 
Chilkoot Haven: A little piece of heaven

Posted: Aug 8, 2017

Thank you for a memorable stay at Chilkoot Haven. We loved the location, the cozy room and the wonderful support we received from you on-site. We appreciated the extra touches, such as muffins and supplies when we arrived, as well as the time Erica spent with us. She is a wonderful asset and a lovely host.

 
Chilkoot Haven: A 'Beary' Great Stay

Posted: Aug 2, 2017

The main selling feature of this property is it's location. This is bear heaven. Each room overlooks the scenic Chilkoot River. We saw bears and fishermen fish in the river. We also ran into a pair of young bears right outside our door next to our car!! The unit itself is very comfortable and has a little kitchen area with fridge; utensils; microwave and coffee maker. We were shown a room which contained other items for guest use eg bbq utensils; aluminum foil; toaster etc and even bear spray. The drive to the unit is extremely scenic. It is away from downtown and had no shops/eateries nearby. (Though this did not bother us). It is also close to the State ferries. Highly recommended.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jul 25, 2017

Great place to stay. Close to the river which is awesome

 
Chilkoot H(e)aven

Posted: Jul 18, 2017

Welcoming staff, amazing view, good fishing...

 
Chilkoot Haven: Best place to stay in Haines

Posted: Jul 17, 2017

Incredible experience! The view is astounding. Mesmerizing river, eagle nests, a brown bear meandering on the river, lovely room, great manager. Highly recommend.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 28, 2017

We had a wonderful stay 5 star. Rooms lovely, location excellency staff friendly and helpful. We highly recommend staying here

 
Chilkoot Haven: Just as I expected..

Posted: Jun 4, 2017

This is my second time in CH,I have always wanted to visit Haines at least once a yr and to make it more memorable I would prefer CH to call my cocoon. View of the river with its' sound never fails.Our caretaker that time was very accommodating. The room has the basic amenities not to mention the barbecue area is handy.I went in May this time, caught 2 dolly varden across the river (near the Chilkat park- walking distance). Next yr,I might book June or July related to fishing. Although you need a car,scooter or bike for going to & from downtown...I believe it adds up to the beauty of it, call it seclusion/solace....just a beautiful journey!

 
Lovely location

Posted: May 31, 2017

I love staying at the Chilkoot Haven. I had everything I needed and the view out the window was breathtaking

 
Chilkoot Haven: Great Service, Clean Room and great view!

Posted: May 8, 2017

Thank you for having us and our guests stay at your cabin. We have a wonderful stay for two nights. We enjoyed the gorgeous view from the lodge and we could see mountain goats right from the property. Also, we could hear Sea Lions chasing candle fish as well! Nice and professional service of Ericka as well. Thank you and we will come back again!

 
Chilkoot Haven...should be called Chilkoot Heaven!

Posted: Sep 27, 2016

We booked the Chilkoot Haven specifically for an 'up close' photography experience with bears during the 2016 Salmon run in the Chilkoot River. The location is absolutely perfect. Being elevated, you are able to scan the entire section of river and with a good camera and lens you can capture images / video from right in front of your room. The better option is to spot bears from the porch area of the lodge, then walk to wherever is the closest safe location to observe the bears. The bears come close to the lodge. On more than one occasion the bears were at the bottom of the stairs which lead up from the river to the lodge. The river also holds seals and plenty of eagles and other birdlife as well. Room 3 was large enough for 2 with a microwave, kettle etc for preparing light meals. There is a good sized BBQ with a gas burner in the covered BBQ area that is shared by guests. Wifi can be a bit slow but the real action is on the river! Highly recommended for photographers and fishermen!

 
Chilkoot Haven - Outstanding Experience

Posted: Sep 26, 2016

 
Awesome time

Posted: Sep 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time watching the two bear families! We had a problem at home so it would have been nice to have cell service, but that is probably out of your hands. I was commenting that a hair dryer seems more needed than an iron, but that 's just me. No complaints at all - gorgeous place, very comfortable. We didn't have any neighbors, but I'm not sure how the patio would be if the place was full. I guess it would be a great way to meet people, but not much privacy. I have already told lots of friends about your awesome place!

 
Stowers

Posted: Sep 23, 2016

Five starts are not enough to describe Chilkoot Lodge and its location. We come on a yearly basis, and never want to leave!!!Sue

 
Chilkoot Haven: Loved it!!

Posted: Aug 30, 2016

Can't say enough how wonderful it was. Cabin was fabulous, location breath taking. A real hidden gem. We will definitely be back!!!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 15, 2016

Absolutely awesome in every way.

 
Ver niet stay

Posted: Aug 14, 2016

We came here for the second time and we loved this nice place very much! The view is fantastic and we saw bears! !

 
Shayne Fairman

Posted: Aug 10, 2016

 
One night stay in August - awesome

Posted: Aug 8, 2016

My husband and myself stayed for one afternoon/night in Chilkoot Haven #3 and loved our stay. The drive there is lovely and the view of the river and the wildlife is great. We sat down on the porch with a little beer and just enjoyed the wildlife and landscape for hours. definitely recommended!

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 6, 2016

Great place! Lovely room with a wonderful view of Chilkoot River! Walk down to the river to catch sockeye salmon and watch seals and eagles! Beautiful Alaskan experience! A bike ride away from downtown Haines. Breathtaking scenery! Friendly and accommodating owner! We love this place!!!

 
Everything we hoped for at Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Aug 4, 2016

We loved our stay at Chilkoot Haven. This was our first trip to Haines and it will not be our last. Our room had everything we need with 2 double beds and a kitchenette and bath, but the most impressive thing was the view. The glass doors opened onto a patio and the view of the Chilkoot River. It was breathtaking!!! My husband enjoyed the fishing even though it was a bit early for the salmon, and I enjoyed all the nature, especially the eagles. We definitely will be returning to Chilkoot Haven, and will be staying longer the nest time. Thanks for a wonderful place to stay.

 


Posted: Jul 12, 2016

 
Exceptional Stay

Posted: Jun 30, 2016

My stay at the Chilkoot Haven was exceptional; the river flowing outside my door, seeing bears, and sleeping well were the highlights. I highly recommend the Chilkoot Haven Room 3. Thank you!

 


Posted: Jun 14, 2016

Loved our stay at Chilkoot Haven. Drop Dead gorgeous views! Very comfy beds, very clean rooms. Would highly recommend.

 
Chilkoot Haven

Posted: Jun 9, 2016

5 stars!

 
Chilkoot Haven: Great spot

Posted: May 22, 2016

The whole place has a great view! Nice, comfortable, and clean rooms. I can't wait to stay here again!