great views and quiet escape

Posted: Jul 5, 2020

Blue Zen was a perfect retreat for the two of us to have a few days of rest. It is off-the-beaten path and surrounded mostly by woods and a quiet part of the Kalamazoo river. All we heard day and night were birds and the occasional quarreling squirrels. Although it feels isolated, it is a short drive from Saugatuck, Douglas, and Holland. The cottage was immaculately clean, the bed comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our food. The only down-side of the cottage is that it is very small. However, other than a small bathroom with a minuscule shower, the size of the place is fine for two people. If you bring more people, anyone staying at the second bedroom has to walk through the main bedroom to get to the bathroom in the middle of the night -- otherwise must walk out of the house and re-enter by the living room, not an easy task. Check in is a bit late at 4 pm. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay there and will consider going back there for another get away.

 
Girls weekend!

Posted: Nov 3, 2019

Beautiful location! We really enjoyed the view while relaxing with our coffee.

 
Blue Zen: Perfect Vacation

Posted: Nov 1, 2019

Our vacation was very pleasant and private, with a beautiful view, and nature all around us! The cottage is exactly as pictured and very clean. It was very relaxing and we look forward to another visit! Thank You, Blue Zen.

 
Perfect

Posted: Sep 14, 2019

We had a wonderful stay at Blue Zen. The cottage is beautifully furnished and overlooks a gorgeous marsh. The owner has thought of everything to allow guests to feel welcomed and comfortable. We will definitely be back!

 
Beautiful couples retreat

Posted: Jun 1, 2019

My boyfriend and I came here for a weekend to visit Saugatuck and do a wine tour in southern MI. The house is soo cozy and charmingly decorated. It has amazing views thanks to the floor to ceiling windows in the living room, an up to date kitchen, cozy bedroom, and really everything we needed! One of the bedrooms doesn’t have blinds on the windows (on every wall) which would probably scare me at night, but the other bedroom was perfect. Would definitely recommend to any couples!!

 
Great

Posted: May 24, 2019

I stayed with two of my best friends and the cottage was perfect for our needs. Clean and open. The view was the best part!

 
Great!

Posted: Apr 12, 2019

Checking in and out was easy. The property and location was great. Overall we had a great time.

 
Wonderful Stay

Posted: Sep 4, 2018

Secluded, quiet, clean. Loved the decor. Nice view. The highlight of our stay was one night falling asleep watching a spectacular lightening show from our bedroom window. Who needs TV! Only thing we couldn't figure out was the AC in the main living area because it was toasty one of the days. Other than that we loved it!

 
Relaxing vacation

Posted: Jul 7, 2018

Blue Zen was a beautiful setting. Sitting by the fire pit every night was great. It was peaceful and quiet, yet close to town if we wanted to get out and do something. We would definitely stay again.

 


Posted: Jun 22, 2018

We had a great stay. We are both teachers. If you ever have gaps in stays mid-week that you would like to fill for a reduced rate please let us know.

 
Review of a Little Piece of Heaven (VRBO)

Posted: May 19, 2018

The booking was straight forward and simple enough to complete. The directions to the VRBO and the realtor lock were also as stated. The house was well kept, neat, and absolutely perfect. The location was ideal for us (nicely secluded) and the view was awesome all the way around because there were so many windows. The view from the back deck was spectacular overlooking the Kalamazoo River and its overflow wetland. For birders, the birds were abundant and no need to leave the house or porch to take pictures. We felt it was a perfect place for us; the interior of house was almost as great as the view. Overall we gave this place and the booking agent an A+. As an example of why we gave the agent an A+: The 1st morning the coffee pot didn't work so we called the agent. We left for some local activities for a few hours and upon arriving at the house we had a NEW pot that worked perfectly) Kudos to agent and house.

 
Very Pleasant Stay

Posted: Jan 3, 2018

The cottage is in a great location, close to Saugatuck and Grand Rapids. The view of the marshland is great. The bed in the main bedroom is over the top comfortable. Internet was not working

Manager Response: Thank you for your feedback. We did find there to be a bad SIM card for the internet and it has been fixed. Our apologies that you had issue with it. Thank you for staying with us!