Weekend getaway

Posted: Jun 16, 2021

On the positive the decor was lovely and beds were comfortable and provided a good night’s sleep. However the WiFi password was not easily accessible despite two pages of the welcome book assuring the password would be located inside. Other than that, we had a good time in a lovely woodsy retreat!

Amazing stay

Posted: May 11, 2021

The house is so beautiful and the little town was so great. Thanks for everything!

Nice house

Posted: May 7, 2021

Great place. Plenty of space. Hot tub stopped working the first night but they came out and fixed it so we could use it the second night. Very quiet place and we visited the brewery and coolfont resort which were so close to the house! Only thing I didn't like was the 3 of sliding glass doors had no blinds or curtains. Freaked us out at night. There was no real grass area I could find, so my dog struggled to go on the moss/gravel but she got used to it. The covered porch was really nice too. Very comfy. They had plenty of accessories and fun games. We even found a bluetooth microphone under the tv stand we had a ball singing bad karaoke.

Amazing Location, Cute Cabin

Posted: Apr 22, 2021

We loved the location of Starling House--being tucked into the woods was so peaceful & quiet. Easy access to trails was a nice perk, but the hot tub afterwards is AMAZING. The cabin is adorable and well appointed with supplies. There was a handful of items that were not working--fireplace (real disappointment), closet door broken, kitchen cabinets not staying shut, only half the bistro lights turn on, chromecast power cord missing--and the cabin had a strange smell which I think is a combo of basement mildew and lack of exhaust fan in the kitchen. Overall, these flaws didn't hinder our trip much, but it would have been nice to know about the fireplace ahead of time as it was really cold while we were in town. There is no outdoor firepit either. Keeping in mind this is a cabin, it was seriously lovely, but for the price, I would expect all of those little broken items to not be an issue (5 stars once fixed). We LOVED being able to bring our dog! I would stay here again!

Beautiful house

Posted: Jan 26, 2021

The hot tub was amazing and beds were very comfortable. Very limited live TV but great amount of dvds, games and books.

It was great except for the broken items.

Posted: Nov 30, 2020

Overall it was a great stay. However, the listing specifically states that there is a functional fireplace and functional dishwasher. Both of these were not working upon arrival, and I only found out about the fireplace being broken through another review. A fireplace may be common in your homes, but it's actually something we specifically seek out when booking rentals as it is something special that we can't have in Brooklyn, so this was a major disappointment and we likely wouldn't have rented the house if we knew it was broken when we booked. The dishwasher we can do without since we're used to hand-washing. It looked like either the previous guest or the cleaner ran the dishwasher and it malfunctioned halfway through. Not sure about that but when we arrived there was a few inches of brown water built up on the bottom of the dishwasher floor. Aside from these two things, everything else was genuinely perfect! Thank you

Manager Response: Hi Alex Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were disappointed in not having the fireplace as shown in pictures of the dining room, but we did in advance let you know it was not in order for the time of your stay. As for the dishwasher, we did have our maintenance team look into this and it was found that it just needed to be have the latch engaged to use. I'm sorry this was not clear, but the dishwasher is fully functioning and was not actually broke. I am glad overall you had a good stay and we do hope you can stay with us again in the future. Thank you for being great guests!


Posted: May 18, 2020

Booking experience with Holly was a delight. She was so helpful and sweet. The house was perfect for everyone that went. Wouldn’t mind staying there again!

Manager Response: Matthew, it was great having you stay with us and we look forward to you staying again!

A Hidden Gem

Posted: May 1, 2020

If I were to look on a map I would never have guessed that Berkley Springs, West Virginia would be a place to visit. The area is a stunning nature refuge! Holly the property owner is a GEM as well. She was extremely helpful and always available and ready to respond quickly with any questions, concerns or needs. She also directed us to Berkley Springs Brewing Co. and the food was amazing! As well as their Root Beer and Kombucha. Our dog also loved the Doggie Meat Ball they made. The owners are also just as friendly and kind as Holly! The house was also wonderful with amazing light and windows! We could hear the birds singing every day and it was so quiet and relaxing. Cacapon Park is super close by as well with so many amazing hiking trails, fishing and paths you can bike. We will definitely be back!