Overall a nice stay

Posted: Jun 23, 2021

We enjoyed our stay but did not find the property as clean as expected. The game area above the garage seemed like it had not been cleaned in a while. We also saw a mouse duck behind the refrigerator.

Quiet Getaway

Posted: Apr 6, 2021

Pretty great overall, tough to get to for the weary driver. Tons of windy roads and definitely need a AWD/4WD vehicle. Took 4-5 hours to warm up and directions about trash were almost too detailed to a point of confusion. The trash key is on the house key so be sure to take that with you when throwing away the trash. But, all in all a great quiet place to get away. I'd book again knowing the location and the rules.

Great for get away weekend

Posted: Apr 1, 2021

Very nice, cozy and spacious home in the mountains. Clean, great kitchen, we enjoyed seating by the firepit, having an outside breakfast or just relax enjoining the silence. Make sure to follow the owner´s instructions to get there instead of GPS!!! This is very important.

Nice and Secluded

Posted: Feb 21, 2021

We had a nice stay. The house is spacious and was clean. Definitely listen to the 4WD/AWD suggestion for winter. We had no problem getting in an out but a car would not have made it with the snow and ice.


Posted: Jan 17, 2021

Great weekend in the woods with family. We loved it. We might make this a yearly thing.

Secluded and spacious

Posted: Sep 15, 2020

We had a great time at the house and loved how secluded it was. The house was bigger than I expected and the finishes inside the house were mostly nice, except a few things were broken in the bathroom. We played air hockey & games from the cabinet, did a lot of cooking/baking, and hung out by the fire pit. We brought our 2 dogs and they had a great time too. There was construction happening across the street but we didn't mind the little bit of noise. Our cell phones got no service, there is no house phone, and the satellite WiFi only worked ~half the time (when the weather was perfect, and it rained every afternoon on the mountain) so be prepared to have no way to communicate with people without driving down the mountain. There seemed to be a wasp/hornet infestation in the exterior wall all along the front porch, so we went through a few cans of Raid but never got stung.

Manager Response: We are very sorry you had trouble with the WIFI, I wish the weather could have cooperated better for you so this wouldn't have inconvenienced your stay. As for the bees- Thank you for letting us know. We will have this addressed right away. We are glad to hear overall you had a good stay and we do look forward to you staying with us again. Thank you for being a great guest.


Posted: Aug 23, 2020

We really enjoyed our stay. The place is secluded, spacious, and comfy. My only suggestion would be to update the linens and bathroom rugs. Aside from that everything was great.

Lovely house, hard to get to

Posted: Aug 20, 2020

This was a really comfortable home. It was a lovely and relaxing stay. The road to get there is really difficult even in the summer with out an SUV. For people with small children, there is no bannister on the steps. Totally manageable, but requires extra caution

Very peaceful getaway! Great isolation! Great hosts!

Posted: Jun 1, 2020

My wife, two young boys and I thoroughly enjoyed a long getaway here right as the last chill of winter was transitioning into spring. Our boys loved being able to just step outside and have tons of yard to run around and play various sports. Being there during the transition between seasons was also a particular treat as we enjoyed the coziness and awesome fire pit during chilly weather and seeing the lovely trees bloom and birds sing as spring set in. We could imagine being there during real winter and snow would be fantastic if one really wanted to get away, and the summer and fall must be incredible. The hosts were also fantastic. They were great helping us get oriented in the area and answering any questions that came up. Really an awesome West Virginia getaway for someone who really wants to be isolated in nature but still not be that far from DC or nearby cities and have easy access to local services if needed.